Tuesday, November 28, 2023
HomeCricketPakistan announce new T20I and Check captains after Babar Azam steps down

Pakistan announce new T20I and Check captains after Babar Azam steps down


Babar Azam, on Wednesday, dropped a captaincy bombshell following Pakistan‘s early exit from the ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India.

Babar Azam resigns from captaincy

Babar took to Twitter to formally announce his resignation from the captaincy place.

“I vividly keep in mind the second after I obtained the decision from PCB to guide Pakistan in 2019. Over the previous 4 years, I’ve skilled many highs and lows on and off the sphere, however I wholeheartedly and passionately aimed to keep up Pakistan’s satisfaction and respect within the cricket world,” wrote Babar in his resignation publish.

He added: “Reaching the #1 spot within the white-ball format was a results of the collective efforts of gamers, coaches, and administration however I’d like to precise my gratitude to passionate Pakistan cricket followers for his or her unwavering assist throughout this journey. As we speak, I’m stepping down because the captain of Pakistan in all codecs. It’s a tough choice however I really feel it’s a proper time for this name.

“I’ll proceed to symbolize Pakistan as a participant in all three codecs. I’m right here to assist the brand new captain and the group with my expertise and dedication. I wish to categorical my honest due to the Pakistan Cricket Board for entrusting me with this vital duty. PAKISTAN ZINDABAD.”

Additionally READ: Virat Kohli units social media ablaze along with his record-shattering ton towards New Zealand at Wankhede – ODI World Cup 2023

PCB names new captains for T20I and Check groups

Following Babar’s announcement, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) swiftly revealed that quick bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi would take over because the T20I captain for the Inexperienced Military, whereas left-handed batter Shan Masood will lead the Check group.

The PCB made the official announcement on social media, stating, “Presenting our captains @shani_official has been appointed Check captain whereas @iShaheenAfridi will lead the T20I aspect.”

Additionally READ: Virat Kohli breaks Sachin Tendulkar’s file of most ODI centuries; Wankhede erupts in pleasure – IND vs NZ, ODI World Cup 2023




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments